Mosquito Information

Our Control Methods

Discover how we control the Mosquito population through our Standard Operating Procedure and Integrated Mosquito Management.

Disease Surveillance


Learn more about how we serve you and Franklin County

Mosquito population activity in Franklin County directly effects and impacts the public health and welfare of its residents and visitors in addition to influencing the comfort, recreational and economic conditions as well.

The Franklin County Mosquito Control District (FCMCD) was formed in 2003 but funding and operations did not begin until 2004. Franklin County consists of both rural and urbanized areas. The District was formed to provide service to all of Franklin County’s 1,300 square mile area which includes the incorporated cities of Pasco, Mesa, Connell, Kahlotus, and the unincorporated cities of Eltopia and Basin City.  FCMCD utilizes a fully integrated pest management program to control mosquitoes. This includes disease (virus antigen assays) and mosquito surveillance/monitoring (Biology) mosquito larviciding and adulticiding (Field Operations), source reduction and public education programs.

FCMCD employs four permanent staff members’ year round and eight seasonal employees during the months of April through October. The staff members of the FCMCD are members of the American Mosquito Control Association and the regional Northwest Mosquito and Vector Control Associations and strive to be leaders in mosquito control services and to be responsive to our communities and the people we serve.

Recent News

Read All News

August 25, 2016

One mosquito sample collected tested positive for West Nile virus The sample was collected on the northwest end of Scootney Reservoir, Othello, WA.

August 23, 2016

One mosquito sample collected tested positive for West Nile virus The sample was collected approximately one mile northeast of Basin City, WA. located in the Bailie Youth Memorial Ranch access parking lot.

August 18, 2016

Please be advised; Franklin County Mosquito Control District will be performing aerial adulticiding over Shoreline Road and Dent Road (West Pasco), Basin City, Connell and surrounding area on the evening of August 19, 2016 between 8:00 pm to 10:00 pm....
Read More

You are donating to : Greennature Foundation

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $20 $30
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Additional Note